Ko Aotearoa Tātou | We Are New Zealand

Introducing the contributors… 

18 March 2020

The editors, in conjunction with Otago University Press, are pleased to share the list of contributors to this new volume, scheduled for publication in Augus 2020. Congratulations to these writers and artists whose work will be published in the book!

​Poetry, fiction and creative nonfiction by:

Rahaf Almabaid

Tusiata Avia

Shriya Bhagwat

Jack Remiel Cottrell

Debra Daley

Vera Hua Dong

David Eggleton

Anaru Eketone

Amber Esau

Ezra Feau

Nida Fiazi

Maryana Garcia

Miriama Gemmel

Ghazaleh Golbaksh

David Gregory

Faisal Halabi

Mohamed Hassan

Courtney Hilden

Tamati Hohepa

Victoria Ivashkova

Marissa Johnpillai

Angelique Kasmara

Blaine Kelly

Sarah Kolver

Miha Kovacevic

Melanie Kwang

Anna Lafaitele

Catarina de Peters Leitão

Lynette Leong

Renee Liang

Fiona Lincoln

Tsitsi Mapepa

Selina Tusitala Marsh

Te Ariki Maunsell

Courtney Sina Meredith

Kim Meredith

Donna Miles-Mojab

Mustaq Missouri

Fardowsa Mohamed

Emma Neale

Mikaela Nyman

Nataliya Oryshchuk

Richard Pamatatau

Aiwa Pooamorn

Hanif Quazi

essa may ranapiri

Sudha Rao

Vaughan Rapatahana

Reihana Robinson

Tania Roxborogh

Ali Shakir

Josie Shapiro

Naomi Simon-Kumar

Neema Singh

Jillian Sullivan

Apirana Taylor

Stacey Teague

Kirsteen Ure

Susan Wardell

Alison Wong

E Wen Wong

Anna Woods

Sigred Yamit

Nidhi Zak

Visual art by: 

Greta Anderson

Claire Beynon

Israel Birch

Nigel Brown

Barry Cleavin

Dee Copland

Garry Currin

Melanie Dixon

Zena Elliott

Michael Hight

Zaina Hilal

Penny Howard

Simon Kaan

Yuki Kihara

Andy Leleisi’uoa

Kim Lowe

Ewan McDougall

Eddie Monotone

Kim Pieters

Sabine Poppe

John Pule

Bridget Reweti

Ellie Stiggers

Zulfirman Syah

Mele Siniva Williams

Leafa Wilson

Sophie Yu

Reza Zareian-Jahromi


Publication news!

15 March 2020

On this day we remember the events of one year ago in Christchurch and honour the memory of those who died. It seems a fitting day that we announce the publication of a new volume that was born in the wake of this tragedy.

Ko Aotearoa Tātou | We Are New Zealand will be published by Otago University Press in August 2020.

70mm blue circle with shadingThe starting point for the anthology was the statement by Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern after the March Christchurch attacks: ‘Because we represent diversity, kindness, compassion, a home for those who share our values, refuge for those who need it…we will not, and cannot, be shaken by this attack.’

The book includes prose, poetry and visual art that explores, investigates or interrogates life in contemporary New Zealand. A celebration, yes, but also an examination of who we are, with young voices and visual artists new to publication and well-known poets, storytellers, essayists and artists.

The editors thank everyone who submitted. We received a wide range of wonderfully crafted responses to the call for submissions, from Kerikeri to Bluff. Some were teenagers still at school; some were in their 80s. Most lived in New Zealand; some were New Zealanders currently living overseas. Submissions roamed from a Chinese restaurant in Christchurch to a fruit-packing factory in Opōtiki to a cemetery under Grafton Bridge in Auckland to a high school in Hastings, and from London to Finland to Vienna to Iran.

The editors also thank the team of consulting editors, without whom we would not have discovered such rich content.

We are looking forward to seeing this volume in August, with thanks to Otago University Press and Creative New Zealand.

For more information please contact:


CNZ logo

Banner art: Okiokiaga by John Pule